SAMGA, Silo A


Antwerpen, Belgium

Built in 1895

Abandoned in 2009

Visited on 01 2011 + 10 2016


In 1895 Antwerp architect Frans van Dijk built this grain silo. It was owned by the SAMGA, short for ‘Société Anonyme des Magasins à Grains d’Anvers’. This company was founded in 1892.

From 1870 the Agricultural Invasion started. Cheap grain arrived in Antwerp by ship from America, Canada and Russia. The grain was manually removed in the port. Grain traders wanted to make it easier, more efficient and, above all, cheaper. In 1895 this silo was the first one in Antwerpen.

This Silo A is 100 meters long and 25 meter wide. Inside the building are 144 brick silos the can hold 25.000 tons of grain.

The original building had four towers on top of the roof, two on either side. Grain was transported up on both sides of the building, that makes this silo a unique building. After a V1 bomb damaged the building during the Second World War, the building was repaired and upgraded. Two levels were added on top of the building and the towers where shortened. A new transport system was installed on the top floors. The system was replaced in 1977.

In 1939 a second silo was built beside this one. In 1971 a third silo was built in front of silo A.

Photos Société Anonyme des Magasins à Grains d’Anvers, Silo A