THE ABANDONED CHURCH IN BELGIUM
‘Eglise Saint-Vaast’ is an abandoned church that has closed its doors a very long time ago. The building is in a very bad state.
The church is situated at the Rue Joseph Parée in Fontaine-l’Évêque. The church already existed in 1211 under the name of ‘Chapelle de Bœgnies’. Eventually it was rebuilt in classical style in 1785 and restored in 1864 and 1933. The whole is built in bricks and limestone under a slate roof.
In 1986 there was a serious danger of collapse due to overdue maintenance, consequently it was decommissioned and closed. Later it was classified as a monument on March 27, 1992.
For years there was no money to restore it, leaving the church is a home for many pigeons. The floors of the church have been opened by archeologists, the church foundations date from 1215, so there is a rich history buried under the ground. Eventually in 2020 there was money to start with the reconvertion of the old church. These photos of ‘Eglise Saint-Vaast’ were taken in 2011.