Château de Moulbaix

Built: 1860

Abandoned: 2005

Renovated: 2016

Visited: 2015

Moulbaix , Belgium

This Castle named ‘Château de la Foret’ or ‘Château de Moulbaix’ is abandoned since 2005. The picturesque castle with 344 windows was designed in 1860 by architect Désiré Limbourg.  The castle is part of a 62 hectare garden, partly designed by landscape architect Louis Fuchs.

The castle was built by the Chasteler family. It replaced a hostel built in 1502. It burned down and was restored in 1889. In the mid 1900s the castle was bought by Count d’Ursel. The castle is vacant since the death of the Countess d’Ursel born Nadine Spoelberch. The heirs sold the property in 2015.

There are many urban legends about this castle. Three people committed suicide inside the castle. Two children who went inside were never found and a burglar was found dead on the stairs.

Château de Moulbaix was sold in 2015. The new owners, the family Govaert, renovated the castle the next year. Today the castle is in use again.

Photos Château de Moulbaix

Don`t copy text!