Monastère les soeurs de Dieu

Built: 1910

Abandoned: 1996

Visited: 2007

Antwerpen, Belgium

This neo-gothic chapel of the monastery can be found in Antwerpen, Belgium. The chapel was build in 1910 and designed by architect Billmeyer. Jules Bilmeyer was born in Berchem in 1850 and he died in 1920. The late-Gothic structure consists of a chapel, adjoining monastery buildings, cloister garden and surrounding garden walls. The original organ from 1913 by Georges Cloetens is still present and is regarded as unique organ.

1999

The Franciscan missionaries of Mary left the monastery to the diocese of Antwerp in the 1980s. In 1999, a school acquired the buildings through a donation. The chapel was used by the school as a gym , but became useless for other activities due to little maintenance. In 2004 the school wants to build a new building at the chapel ground. Also the beautiful garden of the Monastère les soeurs de Dieu is chosen as building site. In 2005 the monument foundation advised the city to protect both chapel and garden. The majority of the chapel’s glass windows are still intact. They hope to keep this beautiful architecture, but until now, nothing is certain.

Photos Monastère les soeurs de Dieu

Don`t copy text!